500 words

Aside

I made a commitment yesterday: ≥500 words of creative writing a day. (I made other commitments, too, but I’m making this one public because I want witnesses).

It doesn’t have to be all in my novel (writing in here counts, too), but it does have to be creative. Or thoughtful. Or at least not business-oriented. I do a lot business writing every day, and the purpose of creating a creative writing goal is to expand into concepts and words that go beyond the business case or the project plan or the almost continuous emails. I hope to expand beyond my novel, actually, in order to give my mind a break when I’m stuck with a scene or with the plot. Shifting gears into a poem, a short story, an essay, or even a philosophical aphorism may allow me to continue writing without the writing feeling forced.

That may mean more writing on this blog. Which, let’s be honest (or at least, let me be honest with myself), wouldn’t have to be much to be considered more.

Thank you for your input

