My greatest fears

Aside

I sat down this morning and wrote the list below. I didn’t think about what I was writing, and I didn’t dwell on the responses; I just wrote what flowed into my mind and this is the list I produced. These are my fears today. I’m sure tomorrow they will be different. Tomorrow I may also not even think about my fears. (I usually don’t. Not consciously, anyway). But today I fear:

That I will be irrelevant

That my children and I won’t adventure together enough

That I will fail as a parent

That I will never again write anything worthwhile

That I will lose my hair and get ugly

That I will get stuck in my career and never take the path less travelled

Oddly, as I read through the list above, I feel a strong sense of gratefulness flow into me. (And also a mild consternation at my own vanity). I can think of many, many other (much, much more devastating) fears that are not mine. This list gives me hope, which is not an outcome I was expecting.

Interesting way to start the day.

Thank you for your input

