Done with Mint, back to cash

Aside

Well, I gave it the ol’ college try (whatever that means), but I’m letting Mint go. It started off as such a promising partnership, too. Then the problems began: the database issues, the double entries, the mis-categorizations, the continued lack of an actual budgeting tool, it got to the point where I was spending more time making corrections than I was analyzing my spending and planning. So thanks, Mint, for a great beginning. I’m disappointed we couldn’t continue the relationship, but you’ve ceased to grow and I’ve moved on.

And in a way I’ve come full-circle.

My frustrations with Mint helped propel me back to a different method of budgeting entirely: I’m going to use this advanced technology called cash to make most purchases. The coolest thing about it? No fees. And with Bank of America’s recent announcement that they will be charging customers $5/month for the “convenience” of using their debit cards, I think the timing couldn’t be better. I’m with a credit union (can you say phenomenally better, kids?) but I can see the writing on the wall as everyone struggles to find new sources of revenue.

Already, I’ve noticed that I’m thinking a lot more before I make even small purchases (coffee, anyone?). I believe this could make a big difference by the end of the month.

Thank you for your input

