Sustaining the bank account, a three-step action plan

Standard

(This is a repost from a couple of years ago that I wanted to put out again because it’s been working).

I’m a big fan of The Simple Dollar. So when Lifehacker announced that Trent had put out a 50 page pdf of Personal Finance recommendations for free I jumped on the opportunity. This aligns with many of the changes I’ve been making at home for the purposes of both environmental and fiscal sustainability.

The document is full of simple, straightforward tasks and advice (some that I’ve done, others that I should). It reads in a way that you could use it as a tick list, and that’s exactly what I’m going to do:

  • Twice a week, I’ve set Things to remind me to review one of the tasks on the document
  • If I’ve already done it, I tick off the task, pat myself on the back and move on with my day
  • If I haven’t done it, I’m going to commit myself to accomplishing the task the same day

I’ve found that these commitment things only work if you actually DO IT. I know, shocking. I’ll let you know how it goes.

The last section of Trent’s book deals with something else near and dear to my heart: pursuing your dreams. For Trent, it’s all about good fiscal discipline giving you the ability to do what you really want to do. His bullets about this are as follows:

  • Not about being rich
  • All about freedom!
  • Follow your passions and dreams
  • Do whatever makes you happy
  • No regrets or worries

How are your personal finance commitments going? How about those dreams? Are you following them?

Thank you for your input

