Think Different

Standard

I just got back from a night over at a friend’s place. As the kids played we got into interesting conversations about telepathy, mind over matter, determinism, transcendentalism, and other fascinating topics. More fascinating, though, was how we interacted, because I’m a skeptic and an empiricist at heart.

Gina is not. She’s a witch. The good kind. But she believes certain things about the mind and it’s effect on the external world that I find implausible at best.

As we discussed our differences I realized two things: 1) I LOVE these kinds of conversations, and 2) I could have these kinds of conversations because I’m not trying to be right. Throughout the conversation I saw several opportunities to crush Gina’s beliefs with the weighty hammer of logic…but I didn’t. Because that would have ended the discussion. Bye bye. Done.

And I was enjoying the discussion. Besides, “truth” has a funny way of shifting its position just when I think I’ve got it pegged.

3 thoughts on “Think Different

    • Samson

      That would be awesome! I’ll bet your metaphysical skillz would leave my head spinning. Of course, it would be your skillz, not the six shots of Jack…

Thank you for your input

