My current rig

Standard

After months of exploring various permutations and combinations of multiple applications, I have hit upon a group of apps that I believe actually does boost my productivity…for the most part. Here’s a list of the winners I have set to start at Login on my Macbook (both those that help and those that are supposed to help but actually steal my productivity):

  • Firefox 3 (helper)
    • I love Firefox for its ease of use and customizability
    • Two great add-ons are Ad Block Plus and Tab Mix Plus (you’ll have to use the dev-build on FF3, but I’ve had no issues at all)
  • Apple Mail (helper/stealer)
    • If I didn’t have MailTags this app wouldn’t be nearly so helpful, but with this add on installed, I can use Mail to manage projects very nicely
    • I’ve subscribed to too many digests right now and they’re overflowing my inboxes
  • iCal (helper/stealer)
    • I interface with Google Calendar using Spanning Sync, which is bulletproof, so I have access to my calendar no matter where I am
    • I love the ability to create multiple, contextual calendars and subscribe to my Project Management webcals
    • I’m bummed that it struggles with invitations; having to retype them through the Mail Tags function wastes time
  • NetNewsWire (STEALER)
    • I downloaded this to be a helper, then subscribed to a bazillion news feeds and personal blogs; now I just READ ALL DAY
    • If I could manage to manage my curiosity, this app would be great, since I get  RSS updates from my Project Management site
  • On The Job (helper, could be improved, but that is apparently on the way!)
    • The current version is a nice little time tracker, but it does have it’s shortcomings so I’m excited to see the improvements
  • Things (HELPER)
    • The BEST task manager I’ve used, bar none
    • The wireless sync between the iPhone app and the desktop app is MAGIC
  • Quicksilver (HELPER)
    • I am one with my movements and therefore unconscious of them
    • I use this helper for about 50% of my desktop movements

These apps make my laptop infinitely more usable, which makes me moderately more productive. I think I might have to ditch NNW, though, if I ever want to get any real work done…

What combination of apps helps you be your most productive? Which one(s) suck the day away?

One thought on “My current rig

Thank you for your input

